Scroll Top
Costa Blanca, Spain
11th Hour Racing Win
11th Hour Racing Team wins The Ocean Race: the first US-flagged team in its 50-year history

US offshore sailing outfit 11th Hour Racing Team has won the 2022/2023  Ocean Race – the world’s longest and toughest team sporting event. The Newport, RI-based team is the first US-flagged entry to win The Ocean Race in its 50-year history.


In unprecedented scenes, the crew heard about their win via a satellite phone call from team CEO, Mark Towill, as they delivered their 60-foot IMOCA, Mālama, to Genoa. This followed a redress hearing by the World Sailing International Jury which awarded the team four points for the final leg following a no-fault collision just seventeen minutes into the start of the final stage of the round the world race, which forced them to return immediately to port and retire.


The CBYA group chatted with skipper Charlie Enright in Alicante before the start of the race.

Here he is with Tim Fawle.

He told us that he was very optimistic that they would win! Click HERE for a full report of the visit.




11th Hour Racing Team overall crew list for The Ocean Race 2022-23:

  • Charlie Enright (USA) – Skipper
  • Simon Fisher (GBR) – Navigator
  • Jack Bouttell (AUS/GBR) – Trimmer
  • Franck Cammas (FRA) – Trimmer
  • Francesca Clapcich (ITA) – Trimmer
  • Charlie Dalin (FRA) – Trimmer
  • Damian Foxall (IRL) – Trimmer
  • Justine Mettraux (FRA) – Trimmer
  • Pierre Bouras (FRA) – Media Crew Member
  • Amory Ross (USA) – Media Crew Member

The Ocean Race 2022-23 Final Overall Leaderboard:
5 points = first; 4 points = second etc.
Note: Leg 3 and Leg 5 scored double points

1. 11th Hour Racing Team – 37 points (4+3+3+3+5+10+5+4**)
2. Team Holcim – PRB – 34 points (5+5+5+4+0+8+4+3)
3. Team Malizia – 32 points (3+2+4+5+4+6+3+5)
4. Biotherm Racing – 23 points (2+4+2+2+3+4+2+4)
5. GUYOT environnement – Team Europe – 2 points (1+1+0+0+0+0+1+0)*
* GUYOT penalized -1 point for exceeding the permitted number of sails
** Given redress


In-Port Race Leaderboard:
5 points = first; 4 points = second etc.
1. 11th Hour Racing Team – 24 points (4+4+5+4+3+4)
2. Team Malizia – 21 points (5+3+3+5+2+3)
3. Biotherm – 16 points (3+0+4+2+5+2)
4. Holcim-PRB – 15 points (0+5+2+3+4+1)
5. GUYOT environnement – team Europe 10 points (2+2+1+0+0+5)

Click HERE for more information.

Well done to skipper Charlie Enright, his crew and the whole support team!

Leave a comment