Scroll Top
Costa Blanca, Spain

Maurice Pilkington Award presented to retiring CBYA Chairman

Maurice Pilkington donated his sextant to the CBYA in 2013, and it now presented as the CBYA Maurice Pilkington Award for long-standing, significant contribution to the club. It was kindly mounted by Johny Tweedale. The first presentation of this award was to Rachel Garnham in 2013. It was later also presented to Richard Jones (2014), Jackie Mudge (2015), Johny Tweedale (2016) and (posthumously) to Karlheinz Witte (2018). It is not awarded annually.

The Maurice Pilkington Award was presented to our retiring Chairman, Hugh Epsom, during the 2023 AGM on Wednesday 22nd March in recognition of the time and commitment that he has given to the CBYA during his eleven years of service on the CBYA Committee. Hugh held the position of TOMs Coordinator for three years, during which time he helped to negotiate the special TOMs rental pricing deal that we have with the Real Club Náutico de Calpe. He then filled the role of Vice-Chairman during the four years that Bob Gordon was Chairman, and he has been our Chairman for the last four years. During his time on the Committee the CBYA membership has grown from around sixty members to over three hundred, and many changes have been introduced, including our interactive website, online accounting system, charter day sails, the dinghy section, charter holidays, virtual sailing, Hobie Cat summer sailing, and our powerboat section.

New Chairman, John Mackney, presented the award

On accepting the award, Hugh said “Many thanks for presenting this auspicious award to me. This moment is particularly poignant, given that Maurice Pilkington passed away in July last year. I am proud to be the sixth awardee. My eleven years on the Committee  have – despite a few difficult times (such as dealing with vandalised dinghies and the COVID pandemic) – been enjoyable, but there always comes a time when you need to move on and hand over to a new team, with new initiatives, in order to keep our Association growing and strengthening. I am sure that our new Committee will do just that!”

To learn more about Maurice Pilkington, click HERE.

The CBYA Trophy Room and Roll of Honour can be viewed by clicking

The Committee

Leave a comment