The 2018 CBYA Annual Awards were presented at the Nau Nau Restaurant in the Club Náutico Jávea  on Monday 21st January, with about fifty CBYA members in attendance.

The awards (presented by Tanya English):

TOMs Ladder 1st placeDave Reid

TOMs Ladder 2nd placeBarry McCrae (collected by Chris de Boer)

TOMs Ladder 3rd placeKeith Leary (collected by Nikki Dwyer)

Racing Trophy – Cruisers – best CBYA cruiser racing results in local regattas (5 Clubs:  3rd overall Division C/Trofeo Penon d’Ifach:   3rd overall Division C/Trofeo Memorial Presidentes : 1st Divison C /Trofeo Navidad : 1st Division C) – Barry McCrae and S/Y Blade crew (collected by Chris de Boer, Dave Reid and Hans Sleutjes)

Racing Trophy TOMs – best CBYA TOMs racing results in the RCNC TOMs liga – Hugh Epsom

Crewing Award – best improved crew/overall regular crewing support on CBYA events – Roger Roberts

Cruising Award – most significant cruising experience during last 12 months – 2018 ARC and Caribbean cruising crewing on S/Y Chantana – Richard Jones (collected by Jim Cooper)

TOMs Award –  best regular, all-round support for all  CBYA TOMs events – Keith Leary (collected by Nikki Dwyer)

Powerboat Award – best regular support for CBYA powerboat activities – Rosie & Mike Sparshatt-Worley (collected by Julie Benneworth)

Dinghy Award – best support of the CBYA Dinghy Section during the last 12 months – Peter Knowles (collected by Dave Peachy)

Maurice Pilkington Award – the award of merit-long standing service to the club presented by Maurice Pilkington in 2013. Previous winners: Rachel Garnham/Richard Jones/Jacki Mudge/Johny Tweedale. Posthumously presented to Karlheinz Witte  for  four years’ dedicated CBYA service on the Committee as Boating Officer. Starting and running the monthly CBYA day-charters. Maintaining CBYA sailing statistics. Collected by his widow, Aura Marina.

Karlheinz Trophy – presented to the CBYA by member John Allison in 2018, in memory of our former Boating Officer, Karlheinz Witte, who tragically died last year. Award for who has achieved the most ON THE WATER in whatever boat (or boats), for the benefit of CBYA members, during the previous 12 months. Awarded to Richard Evett for the huge amount of work he has done to support CBYA members ON THE WATER, both on dinghies, and on the TOMs, during the past twelve months.

During the event a silent auction was held to sell a collection of paintings and sailing equipment donated to the CBYA by our former Boating Officer, Karlheinz Witte – in compliance with his wishes, the proceeds of the auction (EUR 261) will be donated to the 2018 CBYA-supported charities. Mary-Lou Boardman & Tanya English assisted in explaining the paintings and generating interest.

The restaurant again provided an excellent meal, with good service, which was enjoyed by all.

The waitresses and diners.

Many thanks to Rachel Garnham and Ann Masson for helping to recover the trophies from last year’s winners!

Hugh Epsom