Costa Blanca, Spain

THe 2022 CBYA Awards Dinner

The CBYA Annual Awards dinner took place on Monday 23rd January at the A Bordo restaurant in the Club Náutico Jávea, during which the CBYA 2022 awards were presented.

A formal presentation of the CBYA donations to the ISVH Bomberos Voluntarios and to Make-a-Smile took place before the awards dinner.

The Bomberos were represented by Terry Curran (Commander of the Balcón al Mar Voluntarios) and Peter de Graaf , and Terry gave us a brief overview of their work,

Make-a-Smile was represented by their founders, Lucy and Tony Grande, and the latter also made a brief presentation of their work.

Both organisations were presented with a CBYA donation of €750.

The CBYA 2022 awards where presented during another excellent dinner, by Gillian Ashworth, assisted by Rachel Garnham.

The Racing Trophy – Cruisers (presented for the best CBYA cruiser racing results in local regattas) was awarded to Chris de Boer, Barry McCrae & S/Y MATador II crew for their 2022 regatta results of 5 Clubs Regatta result of 10th overall ORC-B, and the RCNC Trofeo Navidad, where they finished 1st in Division C.

Chris de Boer received the trophy on behalf of Barry and the crew.

The Regattas Top – Family Cruiser trophy was presented to Richard Jones (owner and skipper of S/Y TrickyD) for his on-going support for CBYA involvement in the 5 Clubs Regattas.

The Cruising Award trophy (presented for the most significant cruising experience during last 12 months) was awarded to Helma Hermans (skipper and owner of S/Y Sunny Spray) and her crew Marion Oprel and Amanda Topson, for their impressive performance during the CBYA Flotilla Cruise to Ibiza and Formentera.

The CBYA Crewing trophy (presented for the best regular, all-round support for all CBYA sailing events) was presented to our Dinghy Co-ordinator, Paul Glavin, for his continuous support of TOMs events, also of dinghy, cruiser and Hobie Cat events.

The CBYA Powerboat Award was presented to our Powerboat and Raft-up Co-ordinator, Peter Bird, for his regular Dinghy Day safety support and raft-up organisation.

The CBYA Dinghy Award (presented for best support of the CBYA Dinghy Section during the last 12 months) was awarded jointly to Monique Neyzen, Alan Bailey, and Karen Gardner, for their continuous support of our Dinghy Section recovery plan, and regular Dinghy Day events. The award was collected by Monique on behalf of the others and herself.

The CBYA Karlheinz Trophy was donated by CBYA member John Allison in 2018, in memory of our former Boating Officer, Karlheinz Witte, who tragically died in 2017. This award is for a member who has achieved the most ON THE WATER in whatever boat (or boats), for the benefit of CBYA members, during the previous 12 months. The trophy was presented to our Boating Officer, John Mackney.

TOMs Ladder Award (presented for the best CBYA TOMs racing results in the RCNC TOMs liga) was awarded to Barry McCrae for finishing first in the 2022 TOMs Ladder. The award was collected by Chris de Boer on his behalf.

Hugh Epsom, who finished 2nd overall, and Amanda Topson, who secured 3rd place, both received a bottle of wine. Marion Oprel accepted Amanda’s award.

Well done to Gwendoline and Julie for organising another excellent CBYA social event.

The CBYA Trophy Room and Roll of Honour can be viewed by clicking

Hugh Epsom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.